Yogi Astrology

Creative Flow Yoga classes and Astrology workshops online. Yogi is available for businesses, conventions and personal consultation by appointment only. Yogi can combine the following services in a unique and customized reading specific to your needs: Spirit Messages Astrology Phrenology.

What exactly are the planets which are called 'Yogi, Avayogi, and Duplicate Yogi?'

In Vedic Astrology these are actually very important planets you should know about. Without knowing this, you miss out on very important and accurate predictions in your readings.

So let's get to the core of the matter right away. These are their definitions:

Yogi: This is the planet which gives rise to prosperity in the best way it can.

Avayogi: This is the planet which obstructs prosperity in the best way it can.

Duplicate Yogi: This is the planet which supports prosperity, although to a lesser degree than the Yogi.

Now that you know what these planets represent, how to analyze them in your chart?

The easiest way to begin is to see what Dasa/Bhukti you are running. Are you running the Dasa or Bhukti of either the Yogi, Avayogi, or Duplicate Yogi? That is the most direct way.

If you are not running the Dasa or Bhukti, check to see if the Dasa/Bhukti planets you are running are in the sign of either the Yogi, Avayogi, or Duplicate Yogi.

Next, check to see what nakshatras they're in. Are they in the Yogi or Avayogi's Nakshatra?

If the Dasa or Bhukti lord is either the lord, in the sign of, or in the Nakshatra of either the Yogi, Avayogi, or Duplicate Yogi then that planet will give prosperity, or cause obstruction of prosperity whatever the case may be.

Yogi horoscopes

Is the Dasha planet conjoined the Yogi or the Avayogi? That will also give corresponding results. What if it is conjoined with both planets? In that case check to see which one of the Yogi and Avayogi is stronger, or which one is influencing the Dasha or Bhukti planet the most.

Then check the position of the Duplicate Yogi. The Duplicate Yogi's job is to help the Yogi in giving prosperous results to a higher degree, and/or to deter the Avayogi from causing obstruction to prosperity, or at least in causing obstruction to a lesser degree than it would without the Duplicate Yogi's influence.

Another way to analyze is to check and see which planets and houses the Yogi and Avayogi are influencing. Is one of them influencing the 5th house of children, or the 7th house of spouse and business partnerships? If so, then during those particular planetary cycles you will get prosperity through the help of your children or your spouse or your business partner as the case may be.

But if the Avayogi is aspecting those houses or the significators of those matters, then during those planetary cycles that person or persons will tend to cause frustration, delays, and obstructions in matters relating to prosperity. This will be done in a direct or indirect way, and they won't necessarily do it consciously. Their physical presence in your life will just cause such obstruction or prosperity.

There are many other ways to check how the Yogi and Avayogis are influencing your chart. With practice and intuition you will immediately begin to see their influence.

Let's give a quick example. Let's say a person has many Raja Yogas or Dhana Yogas (yogas indicating great fame, power, and wealth in a lifetime) in their chart. However, each and every one of them is somehow involved with the Avayogi, or they're all in the Avayogi's Nakshatra. In that case the Raja and Dhana Yogas will not materialize fully, or will not materialize at all. In fact, they may produce a homeless person (I'm assuming ALL the planets involved are in the same Avayogi's Nakshatra or Sign).

However, let's say you have only ordinary-looking planets in your chart, and yet they are ALL in the Yogi's Nakshatra, and conjoined the Yogi, etc. In that case you will have tremendous prosperity!

Now you know why some famous people are very prosperous and yet their charts look ordinary? Or why some of your friends have all these Raja Yogas, but they are not famous and wealthy? Check out these planets in your chart and find out how they are influencing your Raja Yogas, or your Dasa or Bhukti lord!

How do you do just that? If you use Jagannatha Hora (JHora Software free online) it gives you which planets are Yogi and Avayogi without you having to manually do the calculations. Other Vedic Astrology software programs may do the same.

To do a manual calculation you do the following (it's fairly easy):

Add the longitudes of the Sun plus the Moon, starting at 0 degrees Aries (Sidereal Zodiac).

Once you have your Longitude/Latitude total, add 93 degrees 20 minutes to that.

If you get a number that is higher than 360, subtract 360 from your total.

Once you have a total that is less than 360 degree, add how many 30 degree signs it takes to reach your own sign.

Whatever Nakshatra rules that space of the zodiac, the ruler of that Vimshottari Dasa Nakshatra is the Yogi.

That's it! That's the Yogi!

Let me use my own chart as an example.

I have Moon at 25 degree 06 seconds Gemini. I have Sun at 26 degree 12 seconds Leo.

For Moon the total is 85 degrees 06 seconds (30 degrees Aries + 30 degrees Taurus + 25 degree 06 seconds Gemimi).

For Sun the total is 146 degrees 12 seconds (30 Aries + 30 Taurus + 30 Gemini + 30 Cancer + 26 degree 12 seconds Leo).

Their combined total is: 231*18 (231 degrees and 18 seconds)

Now add 93*20 (93 degrees and 20 seconds to that)

231*18 + 93*20

231 + 93 = 324

Yogi Point Astrology

18 + 20 = 38

So my Yogi is at 324*38 (324 degrees 38 seconds)

So starting from Aries, subtract 30 degree increments:

Yogi Bhajan Astrology

324 - 30/Aries = 294

294 - 30/Taurus = 264

264 - 30/Gemini = 234

Keep going until you have a total that is less than 30 degree.

In my example I get 24*38 Aquarius. That falls in the Nakshatra of Poorva Bhadrapada, which is ruled by the planet Jupiter.

Jupiter is my Yogi.


To get the Avayogi you do the same, except that instead of adding 93*20 (as I did to arrive at Yogi) you add 186*40. Follow the same steps to get the Avayogi.

Yogi babu astrology

The Duplicate Yogi is the easiest one. Once you get the Yogi, the Duplicate Yogi is the planet that owns the Rashi (Sign) in which the Yogi point lies. That's it!

Vedic Astrology Yogas

Astroyogi Daily Horoscope

Please leave me any comments if something didn't make sense, or if I made a wrong calculation. Good luck!